

# **Appointment of Honorary Aldermen**

Thursday 21 September 2017

**Report of the Monitoring Officer** 

## **Purpose of this Report**

The report seeks Council approval to the appointment of additional Honorary Aldermen.

### Background

In 2010 and 2014, in recognition of their service to Buckinghamshire County Council, the Council appointed a number of former County Councillors to the position of Honorary Aldermen. Nominations for this honour are restricted to past Councillors who have given eminent service to the Council in line with the following criteria:

### Honorary Aldermen Criteria

To be eligible to be nominated as an Honorary Alderman, a person should have served a period of at least 8 years (i.e. two terms) as an Elected Member AND have met at least one of the following:

- Have served at least one term as Chairman of a Standing Committee
- Have served as Chairman of the Council
- Have served as Group Leader for at least four years
- Held a Cabinet position for at least three years with distinction
- Held to have given exceptional service, and where supported by a majority of Members

As Aldermen undertake an ambassadorial role on behalf of the County Council, supporting both the Chairman and the Council, the main place of residence for Aldermen should be in Buckinghamshire.

Current Honorary Aldermen are:

Mrs Cherry Aston Mr Bruce Allen Mrs Marion Clayton Mr Mike Colston Mrs Pamela Crawford Mr Kenneth Ross DL Mrs Gillian Miscampbell OBC DL Mr David Polhill Mr Richard Pushman Mrs Freda Roberts MBE Mr Trevor Fowler Mr Peter Lawrence In accordance with Council delegations and following recent elections, Group Leaders, the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Council and the Chief Executive have identified three further persons to be considered for the position of Honorary Aldermen.

#### RECOMMENDATION

Council is asked to AGREE the appointment of the following persons as Honorary Aldermen:

Mrs Margaret Aston Mrs Avril Davies Mrs Valerie Letheren

SARAH ASHMEAD MONITORING OFFICER